Nurse Your Hangover Like an Irishman

Today is St. Patrick’s Day, in case you hadn’t noticed your emerald-clad coworkers or the bruise on your arm from where Tim from accounting thought it would be funny to punch you because you forgot to wear something green.

Despite being of the Irish persuasion myself (my skin tone gives Edward Cullen’s a run for its luminescent money), I tend to look at St. Patrick’s day as less of an actual holiday and more of a day when my front stoop becomes an extension of the bar next door.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good drink.  Guinness, Jameson’s and Baily’s run in my veins.  But green beer disgusts me and, quite frankly, I don’t need to wrestle bead-clad frat boys for an overpriced Miller Light with green food coloring in it when I can enjoy a glass of whiskey in the comfort of my own home.  I also learned a valuable lesson a few St. Patty’s days back when I decided that 10 Yuenglings, a shot of whiskey, and a shot of tequila was a great idea.  It wasn’t.

So what’s the point of this post other than to prove my utter uncoolness and old-person mentality?  I’m here to talk about the Irish hangover, and (more importantly) the cures for an Irish hangover.  After the aforementioned St. Patty’s day fiasco with the tequila, I was not exactly in the best physical state, to say the least.  It was a long road to recovery involving about a gallon of Gatorade and a crate of saltines.  Had I known then what I know now, I guarantee I would have recovered much faster.  What do I know now?  I know about Ida Mae’s.

idasfrontAny Fishtowner worth their messenger bag knows about Ida Mae’s.  For those not in the Fishtown loop, it’s located on the corner of Norris and Tulip Streets (catty corner from the Rocket Cat Cafe).  It’s a lot bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside, and it’s terrific for those who will spend a little too much time huddled up with their Irish car bombs tonight.

My personal hangover cure of choice is the Soda Farl: A sandwich on Irish soda bread consisting of bangers (sausages), rashers (bacon sliced from the back of the pig), eggs and cheese.  The $6 sandwich is deceptively small, but I can never finish it in one sitting.  They also serve full Irish breakfasts (eggs, toast, bangers, rashers, beans, black pudding), as well as a myriad of other specialties including pancakes, tofu scrambles, breakfast burritos, and pierogies.  They have a lunch menu, but, to be honest, I only ever eat breakfast/brunch there.

They’re a Fishtown staple for a reason, and the staff is local, as are all of the ingredients.  They only accept cash and are open Tuesday-Sunday 7am-3pm.  They also offer take-out.  So this March 18, nurse your green beer hangover the Irish way, if you can get out of bed before 3pm.

Ida Mae’s Bruncherie
2302 E Norris St
, Philadelphia, PA
‎ 
(215) 426-4209

–DB

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurants

Leave a Reply

